Skip to content

NanoPbbbbttt!!!

November 20, 2014

Every year, there’s a big, organized movement by writers called NanoWrite, which is an effort to produce a book in a month. For the thirty days of November, writers track their progress, blog in online forums, and sometimes even meet up with others in their geographical area to lament the process.

This year, for the first time in two years, I am on the hunt for a new agent. And I thought to myself – what better way to take my mind off the process than to participate in NanoWrite? I prepared an outline, set quotas for myself, and wheeeeee!

Yeah, no. That is not how I operate. I can’t give myself a quota of words to write each day and then expect it to be good. By mid-November, I had 11,000 words of a manuscript I honestly do not care enough about to finish.

But here’s the value I got from NanoWrite: I realized I can’t make myself write. And in realizing that, I began thinking back to the book that got me my agent, PROMISE ME YOU’LL COME BACK, and how much I loved writing it and the books that inspired it. So instead of spending the rest of this month plugging away on NanoWrite, I’m instead devoting the time to reading the books and watching the movies that made me want to be a writer.

Here is my new goal. By the end of November, I will have read the following: BIG FISH; THE STEPFORD WIVES, THE GIVER, THE WICKED PIGEON LADIES OF THE GARDEN (worst title in the history of literature but probably the most direct inspiration for my becoming a writer), CORALINE,MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN, THE PRINCESS BRIDE, BREADCRUMBS, TUCK EVERLASTING, THE NEVERENDING STORY, THE WIZARD OF OZ, ALICE IN WONDERLAND, BRIDGE TO TERABITHIA, and THE SECRET GARDEN. I will also watch: PLEASANTVILLE, EDWARD SCISSORHANDS and THE ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND.

These works are in line with what inspires me, and my style, and I already have some ideas percolating that I’m really excited about. However, I am not outlining or writing until I am done with all of these, and the ideas have had the opportunity to settle. I’ve learned my lesson before about writing before I was ready, and it’s a shame not to learn your lesson.

And of course, check out all these great books I get to read!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

